Still Grieving Navy Yard

It’s a bit funny that I’m going to dedicate my first official post to a topic so controversial, but how can we ignore one of the biggest issues facing America today?  It seems like every other time I turn on the news or check cnn.com, updates of yet another mass shooting assault my eyes.  My first thought is always how can someone do this? how will the victims’ families cope? when will it end?  I realize that many people who do commit these crimes are either mentally ill or unstable; and I feel sorry for them in that they had no support system to lean on to try to solve their issues.  To follow up on that, however, how are they all able to get ahold of weapons?  In a rather bipartisan view on the issue of gun control, I’m for recreational hunting, shooting trap, etc. in a legal way.  Hell, my dad and brother love to hunt and my dad keeps guns locked in his house!  I’m also very, very against the distribution of these assault rifles and other killing machines that seem easier to obtain every passing day.  Gun control in favor of protecting Americans is something we should all support.  Additionally, something that has also crossed my mind multiple times after reading Columbine (the novel): can we stop making famous the shooters in all these incidents?  Give us one or two facts, tell us the police’s speculation about why they would do something like this, then drop it.  Why is it that anyone can recognize the name Adam Lanza as the shooter in the Newtown, CN shooting, but very few people could recall the names of those victims?  These criminals should not be remembered; rather, we should spend our time, energy, and money commemorating the true heroes – in these cases, victims – instead.

One of the bigger shocks I’ve had in this week’s Navy Yard shooting is that I live in the city that fell victim to this tragedy.  When I lived around Detroit, crimes happened all the time, sure, but I can’t recall a nationally-covered shooting rampage by one person.  It’s such a weird feeling; so complex and hard to explain.  Imagine this: everyone at work whispering and quickly catching updates the moment they come online, not knowing what this guy was doing or thinking, wondering if this was a terrorist attack, asking yourself if this is only phase one of said terrorist attack, questioning if he would be knocking down your door next.  I absolutely cannot relate with those brave souls who work in the Navy Yard and surrounding area, but I do know now a little bit of the sense of uncertainty and fear that comes directly from a mass shooting that has become so alarmingly common in American society today.

Very heavy heart this week. Xoxo

Leave a Reply

