Holiday Season & Resolutions baby!

Hey y’all!  I’m so sorry I haven’t written in over a month, I’ve been on my Christmas shopping and traveling grind and haven’t had a lot of down time until, well, yesterday.  I feel so blessed to have had the past month that I have and this giving season has really been one for the books.  I was fortunate enough to buy a decent present for everyone on my list (plus a few others! boyfriend’s grandma-check!) and in turn, received so many gifts, blessings, and well wishes.  It truly was a beautiful holiday season.  My parents, my boyfriend and I had the good fortune of traveling to Pasadena, California to watch those killer Michigan State Spartans play in the Rose Bowl on New Year’s Day. What a great game, and what a sweet, sweet win.  My Spartys are currently facing the Ohio State Buckeyes in basketball at the moment and I have no doubt they’ll do some serious butt whooping.  Anyway, what I wanted to write about tonight was a few of my resolutions; I know it’s cheesy, but even if no one in the world reads this post, at least it’ll be written in ink so I’ll be forced to either accomplish the below goals, or at least feel very guilty late next year when I realize I haven’t completed them.  And here they are:

  1. Learn to play guitar.  At least I already have a little bit of the music gene in me (I played piano for 8 years) so I think I’ll be able to pick it up fairly easily.  It’s not just the added ability I want to add to my “skills” repertoire; I want to learn to play guitar so that when I write poetry, I can set it to music.  I’ve done this a couple times with my piano, but I love the feel, look and sound of an acoustic guitar, and I really feel it gives a song just a little bit more oomph.
  2. Work out 3x a week.  Really, this is a minimum.  I already eat pretty healthy (stomach issues since I was a kid) and that’s only gotten better since I joined the real world.  I’m not a crazy nut job who is super conscious about how much I weigh. I literally weigh myself once a year, and that’s because I’m forced to at my annual physical, so usually I measure my weight in how tightly my clothes fit and I how I think I look.  Believe me, this is a refreshing mindset – throw away your scale!  I want to work out more regularly simply to keep myself healthy and in check.
  3. Finish a book.  I’ve had a million ideas float around my head for as long as I can remember, but I’ve never even come close to finishing any of them.  There is tons of poetry written in my little blue spiral book, but clearly that isn’t gonna work for this goal either.  No.  I need a good, hard time block every week where I simply sit down, turn on some jams, and force myself to write.  I find writing so therapeutic, I’m surprised it took me as long as it did to start a blog.

What are your resolutions? Do you have a contingency plan if you don’t quite keep them?

Pray hard this week for those without a warm place to sleep at night.

Xoxo, Emily

PS – here’s a look at my trip to Las Vegas and Los Angeles!

The Bellagio Fountains:

Image

Venice Beach Boardwalk:

Image

 

Leave a Reply

